CSA Time!

Veggies from the first delivery of CSA from Red Fire FarmGetting my first delivery of veggies from my CSA was as exciting and interesting as I had hoped. The season starts out fairly light with a lot of leafy salad greens, some turnips and radishes, and herbs. In the photo to the right (from top to bottom) is cilantro, Hakurei Turnips, Chives with flowers, and radishes.

I have to admit, there aren’t a whole lot of ‘recipes’ from this first batch – the veggies and herbs were so delicious that I just chopped them up into a salad and ate them straight!! (ok, a little balsamic & olive oil dressing, but that’s it!). The radishes really caught me by surprise, they are quite a bit spicier than any radish I’ve had before.

CSA_1Hakurei Turnips were new to me (and to my spell-checker), and I am definitely a fan. (My spell-checker, however, is not) They are light and crisp with a very mild peppery bite that’s reminiscent of a radish. While you can definitely eat these straight, I decided to slice them thin and lightly sauté the turnip part in olive oil along with the greens. I only added a small pinch of kosher salt to enhance the flavors. Then I just served it over sticky rice.

Another surprise was to see an old friend from high school picking up veggies from my location. I hadn’t seen Margaret in years, and was pleasantly surprised to learn that she is a food blogger trying out alterations of recipes and comparing the results at alteRecipes ( www.alterecipes.com )!